PAGCS To Present Highest Honor, the Eb Steiniger, at Member-Guest Event

The PAGCS is proud to announce that longtime former Board member and former Sergeant-at-Arms Jim Stauring will receive the 2022 Eb Steiniger Award, the Association’s highest honor

The award will be presented at the Member-Guest on 6/27 at Green Valley Country Club. See the Events tab for registration.

About Jim: Jim spent many years as a superintendent at Philmont Country Club, then took over the reigns at Bensalem Country Club, retiring from there in 2020. He still plays a role on the Bensalem team in multiple capacities.

Jim served on the PAGCS Board of Directors starting in 1992, just a year after becoming a member. He went on to serve multiple terms, include a stint as Sergeant-at-Arms. Those who know Jim and/or served with him will remember his tenure as Member Services Chairman:

In his nomination letter, Sumner Cross attested to this legacy: “Jim’s role …  has carried over into his everyday life. While at Bensalem Country Club, Jim created a parking space reserved for former military members. He has remained in touch with retired, former board members to let them know that the friendships made while in the Association also extend into the future after life as a superintendent.”

About the Eberhard “Eb” Steiniger Award: This award is presented to an individual in the turfgrass profession who exemplifies the spirit of Eberhard Steiniger, CGCS. Eb Steiniger, who passed away in 2002, served as PAGCS president in 1966 and 1967. He dedicated his life to the game of golf by advancing the profession of golf course superintendent. His innovative research, mentoring of future superintendents, and professional involvement locally and nationally have made him a legend in the profession. Eb was the longtime superintendent at Pine Valley before his retirement.

All of the awardees listed here represent the “best of the best” in the golf turf management industry.

Mr. Fred Byrod -1990

Mr. William H. White -1991

Dr. Joseph M. Duich -1992

Dr. Donald Waddington -1993

Dr. John C. Harper II -1994

Mr. Richard E. Valentine -1995

Mr. Charles H. Cadiz Jr., CGCS -1996

Mr. Stanley J. Zontek -1997

Mr. William Marberger -1998

Mr. John A. Segui, CGCS -1999

Mr. Frank I. Shuman -2000

Mr. Joseph H. Way -200 I

Dr. Thomas L. Watschke -2004

Mr. Michael R. Smith, CGCS -2005

Mr. Edward Roynan -2006

Mr. Henry Wetzel -2012

Mr. Frank T. Shuman -2015

Mr. George E. Ley – 2019